Gun reveal reissue

Scottish rockers Gun are to reissue their debut album Taking On The World to mark its 25th anniversary

The new three-disc version features the original recording, along with B-sides, rarities and sessions recorded at the BBC. It will launch on October 27.

To compliment the release, the band have lined up three Glasgow gigs at the city’s King Tut’s venue, where they will play their first three albums over the three nights.

They have also released a live stream of the track Better Days. Hear it below.

Frontman Dante Gizzi says: “It’s hard to believe it’s been 25 years since we recorded Taking On The World in Park Lane Studios. Like all bands that first start out recording their debut album, we had no inhibitions, not needing to worry about retaining any level of success as we hadn’t been there before.

“We just wanted to record an album we wanted to make. We’re so proud of what we achieved with that album and we’re so happy that it’s getting a proper re-release.”

The band are currently working on a new album, which is set for release in early 2015.

Taking On The World tracklist

Disc 1

  1. Better Days

  2. The Feeling Within

  3. Inside Out

  4. Money (Everybody Loves Her)

  5. Taking On The World

  6. Shame On You

  7. Can’t Get Any Lower

  8. Something I Believe In

  9. Girls In Love

  10. I Will Be Waiting

Disc 2: B-sides

  1. Prime Time

  2. Dance

  3. When You Love Somebody

  4. Coming Home

  5. Better Days (Live)

  6. Back To Where We Started

  7. Where Do We Go?

  8. Don’t Believe A Word

  9. Better Days (12-inch Mix)

  10. Shame On You (Remixed by Andy Taylor)

  11. Money (Everybody Loves Her) (Extended Version)

Disc 3: BBC Sessions

  1. Shame On You

  2. Better Days

  3. Coming Home

  4. Taking On The World

  5. Shame On You

  6. I Will Be Waiting

  7. Something I Believe In

  8. Taking On The World

  9. Something I Believe In

  10. Can’t Get Any Lower

  11. Coming Home

  12. Taking On The World

Gun gigs

Nov 09: Glasgow King Tut’s – Taking On The World

Nov 10: Glasgow King Tut’s – Gallus

Nov 11: Glasgow King Tut’s – Swagger

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.