Skip to main content

Dublin’s Thumper announce debut album Delusions Of Grandeur, share Overbite single

(Image credit: Ruth Medjber)

Irish noise-pop band Thumper will release their debut album Delusions of Grandeur on March 18, via EMMS, and are offering an early preview of what to expect with the release of a new single, Overbite.

Originally self-identifying as “bubblegum psych through a wall of sonic death”, and bearing DNA traces from My Bloody Valentine, Sonic Youth and Nirvana, the sextet feature three guitarists and two drummers and share post-punk influences with fellow Dubliners Fontaine D.C. (who will release their third album Skinty Fia, on April 22 on Partisan Records) and The Murder Capital (who are expected to release the follow-up to their acclaimed 2019 album When I Have Fears later in 2022). 

Listen to Overbite below:

The title of the band’s debut album, we're told, refers to “a struggle of self image, internal and external, and the existential maintenance that all of this implies.”

The track list for Delusions Of Grandeur is:

1. Fear of Art
2. Ad Nauseam
3. 25
4. Greedy Guts
5. Strychnine
6. The Loser        
7. Topher Grace
8. (i) Overbite
9. (ii) The Ghost
10. (iii) Down in Heaven

Thumper DOG

(Image credit: EMMS)
Paul Brannigan
Paul Brannigan

A music writer since 1993, formerly Editor of Kerrang! and Planet Rock magazine (RIP), Paul Brannigan is a Contributing Editor to Louder. Having previously written books on Lemmy, Dave Grohl (the Sunday Times best-seller This Is A Call) and Metallica (Birth School Metallica Death, co-authored with Ian Winwood), his Eddie Van Halen biography (Eruption in the UK, Unchained in the US) emerged in 2021. He has written for Rolling Stone, Mojo and Q, hung out with Fugazi at Dischord House, flown on Ozzy Osbourne's private jet, played Angus Young's Gibson SG, and interviewed everyone from Aerosmith and Beastie Boys to Young Gods and ZZ Top. Brannigan lives in North London and supports The Arsenal.