Skip to main content

Check out Corey Taylor’s cover of David Bowie’s Moonage Daydream

Corey Taylor (Image credit: Scott Dudelson)

Last weekend might have seemed like it was all about Slipknot (opens in new tab), but frontman Corey Taylor removed his new Tom Savini-designed mask to play a solo set at Gardenamp in Garden Grove, on Sunday evening.

The performance came just days after Slipknot lit up the Jimmy Kimmel Live! outdoor stage by playing new single Unsainted and last year’s standalone track All Out Life (opens in new tab) – but it was a different vibe at the Californian venue.

The vocalist is known for playing tracks by fellow artists including Guns N’ Roses and Van Halen (opens in new tab) at his Corey Taylor & Friends shows, and on Sunday, he launched into a cracking cover of David Bowie’s Moonage Daydream.

Footage of the performance has appeared online and can be watched below.

Last month, Taylor covered Poison’s 1988 single Nothin’ But A Good Time, which drew praise from Poison frontman Bret Michaels, who called it “awesome.” (opens in new tab)

Meanwhile, Slipknot will release their new studio album We Are Not Your Kind on August 9 through Roadrunner Records and will head out on tour across Europe in the coming weeks.

Slipknot: We Are Not Your Kind
1. Insert Coin
2. Unsainted
3. Birth Of The Cruel
4. Death Because Of Death
5. Nero Forte
6. Critical Darling
7. Liar’s Funeral
8. Red Flag
9. What’s Next
10. Spiders  
11. Orphan
12. My Pain
13. Not Long For This World
14. Solway Firth 

(opens in new tab)

Slipknot: We Are Not Your Kind (opens in new tab)
Slipknot's brand new album We Are Not Your Kind will be released through Roadrunner Records in August. The follow-up to .5: The Gray Chapter features the lead single Unsainted.

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.