Band formed by Burton back with new material

The band Cliff Burton was in before he joined Metallica has signed a deal with Pure Steel Records and will release a new album this year.

Trauma formed in San Francisco in 1980 and the original line-up included Burton on bass, Michael Overton and George Lady on guitar, Dennis Shafer on drums and vocalist Donny Hillier.

Only Hillier remains from that line-up, with Kurt Fry now on guitar duties, Kris Gustofsen on drums and Marcel Eaton on bass.

Trauma’s new, 10-track album will be their first since 1984’s debut Scratch And Scream, which was re-issued last year.

Burton joined Metallica in 1982. He died in September 1986 when Metallica’s tour bus crashed in Sweden.

Stef wrote close to 5,000 stories during his time as assistant online news editor and later as online news editor between 2014-2016. An accomplished reporter and journalist, Stef has written extensively for a number of UK newspapers and also played bass with UK rock favourites Logan. His favourite bands are Pixies and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Stef left the world of rock'n'roll news behind when he moved to his beloved Canada in 2016, but he started on his next 5000 stories in 2022.