Andy Summers explains Metal Dog

Andy Summers’ new album Metal Dog was created after a contemporary dance project failed to mature.

The former Police guitarist and Robert Fripp collaborator says he regards the work as “avant-garde,” while descriptions of the tracks include “freaky textures,” “sunny moods” and “wild blanket of harmonic distortion.”

Summers recently told Goldmine: “I was looking at a visual artist in New York and I was going to do the music and put it with a dance company. I was very much thinking about dances on a stage, with video and all that.

“Towards the end, we didn’t come up with much, so I had a lot of tracks and I decided there was a really good album in here. I was pleased to form it into a full-length CD.”

Metal Dog is released via Andy Summers Music on December 4 on CD, and it’s available now in digital formats.


  1. Metal Dog
  2. Animal Chatter
  3. Ishango Bone
  4. Vortex Street
  5. Bitter Honey
  6. Qualia
  7. How Long Is Now?
  8. Harmonograph
  9. Oceans of Enceladus
  10. Mare Imbrium
Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.