Amberian Dawn's supercharged version of SOS is everything you could wish for in a power metal tribute to Abba

Amberian Dawn promo shot
(Image credit: Napalm Records)

Finnish symphonic power metal titans Amberian Dawn have released a dazzling version of Abba's 1975 classic SOS, and if you like it, steel yourself for some big news: the band have recorded a full album of Abba songs entitled Take A Chance – A Metal Tribute to Abba, which is scheduled for release on December 2 via Napalm Records.

SOS is a great song," says band founder Tuomas Seppälä. "It's both a happy and sad song at the same time. The original version uses a unique piano sound. I didn’t want to use that kind of piano sound myself, because it wouldn’t have been as good as the original, so instead of that, I used more powerful guitars and other synthesizers in our arrangement. 

"Our version of the song really brings Abba into the world of metal in the 21st century."

Amberian Dawn first tangled with Abba in 2019, releasing a version of Lay All Your Love On Me that later appeared on the band's ninth album Looking For You. 

"The songs have been carefully selected," advises Seppälä. "There’s a couple of big hit songs of course, but some of my personal favourites, like The Day Before You Came, are also included. The recording project was eventually a really big challenge for all of us and needed a lot of work, but we’re all 100% satisfied with the results. This album really sounds like an Amberian Dawn album."

Full tracklist below. Take A Chance – A Metal Tribute to Abba is available to pre-order from Napalm Records.

Amberian Dawn: Take A Chance – A Metal Tribute to Abba tracklist

  1. Super Trouper
  2. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
  3. SOS
  4. Head Over Heels
  5. The Day Before You Came
  6. Angeleyes
  7. That's Me
  8. Mamma Mia
  9. Under Attack
  10. Like An Angel Passing Through My Room
  11. Lay All Your Love On Me

Amberian Dawn: Take A Chance – A Metal Tribute to Abba packshot

(Image credit: Napalm Records)
Fraser Lewry

Online Editor at Louder/Classic Rock magazine since 2014. 38 years in music industry, online for 25. Also bylines for: Metal Hammer, Prog Magazine, The Word Magazine, The Guardian, The New Statesman, Saga, Music365. Former Head of Music at Xfm Radio, A&R at Fiction Records, early blogger, ex-roadie, published author. Once appeared in a Cure video dressed as a cowboy, and thinks any situation can be improved by the introduction of cats. Favourite Serbian trumpeter: Dejan Petrović.