Walter Trout announces covers album Survivor Blues

(Image credit: Austin Hargave)

Walter Trout has announced that he’ll release a covers album in early 2019.

The vocalist and guitarist will launch Survivor Blues on January 25 via Provogue/Mascot Label Group, with Trout explaining why this won’t be a run-of-the-mill covers record.

He says: “I’m riding in my car sometimes, and I’ve got a blues station on – and here’s another band doing Got My Mojo Workin’. There’s a little voice in me that says, ‘Does the world need another version of that song?’ 

“So I came up with an idea. I didn’t want to do Stormy Monday or Messin’ With The Kid. I didn’t want to do the Blues greatest hits. I wanted to do old, obscure songs that have hardly been covered – and that’s how Survivor Blues started.”

Trout adds: “My idea was to do these songs like me, to arrange them for my band and style – not to just copy the originals note-for-note.” 

To mark the announcement, Trout has released his take on the Jimmy Dawkins track Me, My Guitar And The Blues, which can be listened to below.

Trout has a number of tour dates coming up (opens in new tab), including a show in Newcastle tonight.

Walter Trout: Survivor Blues
1. Me, My Guitar And The Blues
2. Be Careful How You Vote
3. Woman Don’t Lie (feat. Sugaray Rayford)
4. Sadie
5. Please Love Me
6. Nature’s Disappearing
7. Red Sun
8. Something Inside Of Me
9. It Takes Time
10. Out Of Bad Luck
11. Goin’ Down To The River (feat. Robby Krieger)
12. God’s Word

Walter Trout: Survivor Blues (opens in new tab)

Walter Trout: Survivor Blues (opens in new tab)
Walter Trout delves into a collection of old and obscure blues tracks and puts his unmistakable spin on them - including a cover of the Jimmy Dawkins track Me, My Guitar And The Blues.

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.