Unheard Hendrix track leads album launch


One of Jimi Hendrix’s earliest recordings has been streamed ahead of an album containing his work with Curtis Knight & The Squires.

Station Break is an instrumental piece, recorded in 1965 before the axe icon established his place in musical history.

It’s taken from You Can’t Use My Name: The RSVO/PPX Sessions, which is released on March 24. Veteran engineer Eddie Kramer cleaned up the original tapes, saying: “We’ve taken every performance as far back as we could do in terms of source, stripped them back, remixed them and made the best representation of these recordings.”

Hendrix said in 1967 of his time with Knight: “I was a backing musician playing guitar. I was always kept in the background – but I was thinking all the time about what I wanted to do.”

He’s the cover star of the latest edition of The Blues Magazine, on sale now and also featuring Ian McLagan, Steve Earle, JJ Grey & Mofro and more.


  1. How Would You Feel

  2. Gotta Have A New Dress

  3. Don’t Accuse Me

  4. Fool For You Baby

  5. No Such Animal

  6. Welcome Home

  7. Knock Yourself Out [Flying On Instruments]

  8. Simon Says

  9. Station Break

  10. Strange Things

  11. Hornet’s Nest

  12. You Don’t Want Me

  13. You Can’t Use My Name

  14. Gloomy Monday