Neil Young & Crazy Horse announce new album World Record

Neil Young with Crazy Horse, 2022
(Image credit: Joey Martinez)

Neil Young & Crazy Horse will release a new album, World Record, on November 18 via Reprise Records.

The album, the follow-up to 2021's Barn, was recorded at Shangri-La in Malibu, and produced by Rick Rubin and Young. Introduced by the single, Love Earth, the album is described by Young's 'people' as "a cautiously optimistic meditation on the past, present, and future of our shared planet and what it means to live on it."

In July, Young wrote about the album in a message on the Times-Contrarian page on the Neil Young Archives website.

"The music on this album of course is very special to me," he wrote. "I want you to hear it right now. Back in the day, I would take a vinyl test to a DJ in LA somewhere and get the new record on the air waves. That was exciting. Feedback was instantaneous. People would call up the station and comment on the new music.

"Now, with this recording, something special is happening and we know we have a good one. It’s too early to say any more because in this world things come and go so fast. But real magic lasts and we think we have it."

World Record will be released on double-vinyl, double-CD, cassette and multiple digital formats including XStream hi-res audio and Atmos/Spatial. To optimise audio quality, the vinyl format will be released as a three-sided double album with an etching on side four. There will also be a limited-edition version of the album pressed on clear vinyl. The album is available to pre-order now.

World Record artwork

(Image credit: Reprise)

The tracklist for World Record is:

1. Love Earth
2. Overhead
3. I Walk With You (Earth Ringtone)
4. This Old Planet (Changing Days)
5. The World (Is In Trouble Now)
6. Break The Chain
7. The Long Day Before
8. Walkin’ On The Road (To The Future)
9. The Wonder Won’t Wait
10. Chevrolet
11. This Old Planet Reprise

Paul Brannigan
Contributing Editor, Louder

A music writer since 1993, formerly Editor of Kerrang! and Planet Rock magazine (RIP), Paul Brannigan is a Contributing Editor to Louder. Having previously written books on Lemmy, Dave Grohl (the Sunday Times best-seller This Is A Call) and Metallica (Birth School Metallica Death, co-authored with Ian Winwood), his Eddie Van Halen biography (Eruption in the UK, Unchained in the US) emerged in 2021. He has written for Rolling Stone, Mojo and Q, hung out with Fugazi at Dischord House, flown on Ozzy Osbourne's private jet, played Angus Young's Gibson SG, and interviewed everyone from Aerosmith and Beastie Boys to Young Gods and ZZ Top. Brannigan lives in North London and supports The Arsenal.