Iggy Pop rarities coming soon

A 3CD set featuring rare, live and previously unreleased material from Iggy Pop’s post-Stooges career is to be released on June 23.

Cleopatra Records will issue the 3CD compilation, entitled Psychophonic Medicine, which focuses on his late 70s and early 80s output.

Along with a disc of rarities which includes versions of tracks from his debut solo album The Idiot (1977) and Party (1981) the rest of the collection is made up of two live sets, one from the Paris Palace in 1979 and one from San Francisco’s Old Waldorf in 1981.

The package also features a 36-page booklet featuring rare pictures from the archives of longtime Stooges photographer and author of the group’s official biography, Robert Matheu.

Pop revealed last year that he’d thought about a career in politics but changed his mind following the assassination of JFK in 1963.

CD1: Rarities

  1. Dum Dum Boys (Alternate Mix)

  2. Baby (Alternate Mix)

  3. China Girl (Alternate Mix)

  4. Tiny Girls (Outtake)

  5. It’s My Life (Unreleased)

  6. Bang Bang (Alternate Mix)

  7. Sea of Love (Alternate Mix)

  8. Time Won’t Let Me (Alternate Mix)

  9. Fire Engine

  10. Warrior Tribe

  11. Old Mule Skinner

  12. Beside You

  13. Cry For Love

  14. Purple Haze

  15. Warm Feeling (Unreleased)

  16. Let’s Boot And Rally with Bethany Cosentino

CD2: Paris Palace 1979

  1. Cock In My Pocket

  2. Kill City

  3. Fortune Teller

  4. New Values

  5. Billy Is A Runaway

  6. I Wanna Be Your Dog

  7. Five Foot One

  8. Dirt

  9. Batman

  10. Louie Louie

  11. Shake Appeal

  12. I’m Bored

CD3: San Francisco 1981

  1. I Need More

  2. Some Weird Sin

  3. Houston Is Hot Tonight

  4. TV Eye

  5. 1969

  6. Rock and Roll Party

  7. Bang, Bang

  8. Dum Dum Boys

  9. Eggs On Plate

  10. I’m a Conservative

  11. I Need More (Again)

  12. Lust for Life

  13. The Winter of My Discontent

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.