Heart’s Ann Wilson to release new solo album Immortal in September

(Image credit: Scott Legato - Getty)

Heart vocalist Ann Wilson has announced details of her new solo album.

It’s titled Immortal and will launch on September 14 via BMG and features a collection of covers of tracks by deceased artists that have inspired Wilson.

Among the songs are Wilson’s interpretations of Audiosoave’s I Am The Highway, David Bowie’s I’m Afraid Of Americans and Luna by Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers. 

Wilson says: “At this point in my life and career, I am happy to be given any opportunities, and I am really, really proud to be doing this album. 

“It’s a project very dear to me – a collection of songs by artists who have departed in the last several years including Leonard Cohen, David Bowie, Tom Petty, Chris Cornell, Amy Winehouse and George Michael to name a few. 

“I feel these souls have made a real, lasting contribution to the art of the popular song, and to honour them is my deepest pleasure.

“Mike Flicker is working with me on this new album. It has been a wonderful experience for me because I'm not only singing, but directing, too. 

“I am able to see the project grow from an idea to a finished song, with no compromises to the original vision. My team and I are not holding back, and you can expect the unexpected on the tracks.

“We'll have some surprise guests on the record, including Jeff Beck, Warren Haynes and Ben Mink. It has been a thrilling endeavour, and I can't wait to share the finished album with you in the coming weeks.”

Ann will head out on the road across North America in support of the new record from next month, while the cover art will be revealed in due course.

Heart have been on hiatus since Ann Wilson’s husband Dean Wetter was handed a suspended sentence for reportedly assaulting sister Nancy’s twin sons in 2016 and revealed her plans to record a solo album back in January.

Ann Wilson - Immortal

1. You Don’t Own Me
2. I Am The Highway
3. Luna
4. I’m Afraid Of Americans
5. Politician
6. A Thousand Kisses Deep
7. Life In The Fast Lane
8. Back To Black
9. A Different Corner
10. Baker Street

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.