GOAT to release their sinister proggy soundtrack to The Gallows Pole

(Image credit: Andreas Johansson)

Secretive Swedes GOAT are to release their soundtrack to the recent BBC Television programme The Gallows Pole digitally through Rocket Recordings on July 7. You can listen to the track Jazzman below

There was plenty of noise on social media from prog fans while the programme, penned by sometime Prog writer Ben Myers, aired, given the proggy nature of the music and the quasi mystical and pagan backdrop of the programme. The Gallows Pole was adapted for television by acclaimed director Shane Meadows (Dead Man's Shoes, This Is England).

The series, which was based in rural 18th century Yorkshire, tells a fictionalised tale based on the true story of David Hartley and the Cragg Vale Coiners, which became the biggest fraud in British history.

“In the beginning, we would get inspiration just through reading the book, trying to get a sense of its vibration and then translate that into music, with passages from the book as a springboard for those jams," the band explain of the writing process for the soundtrack.

The Gallows Pole is GOAT's second soundtrack release, following their score for the 2017 British independent horror film Double Date. The album includes five brand new tracks from the score and three existing tracks director Meadows selected from their back catalogue.

You can view the album artwork and tracklisting below.

Pre-order The Gallows Pole.


(Image credit: Rocket Recordings)

GOAT: The Gallows Pole
1. Let It Burn
2. Mind Is Like The Sky
3. Field Raga
4. Jazzman
5. The Gate Is Open (The Temple Lies Within)
6. Vallåt’ 
7. Fill My Mouth
8. Gathering of Ancient

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.