Skip to main content

Baroness release Shock Me stream

Baroness have released a stream of their track Shock Me.

It features on their Purple album, due out on December 18 via their own Abraxan Hymns label. It will be the US outfit’s first studio release since 2012’s Yellow & Green.

The title of the record is based on a bus crash the group were involved in back in 2012.

Vocalist and guitarist John Baizley says: “The band suffered a gigantic bruise. It was an injury that prevented us from operating in a normal way for quite some time.

“Hopefully, this record is the springboard that helps us get away from all that.”

The band previously released the track Chlorine & Wine in September. They head out on a US tour later this month.

Purple tracklist

  1. Morningstar
  2. Shock Me
  3. Try To Disappear
  4. Kerosene
  5. Fugue
  6. Chlorine & Wine
  7. The Iron Bell
  8. Desperation Burns
  9. If I Have To Wake Up (Would You Stop The Rain)
  10. Crossroads Of Infinity

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.