Are Doves about to release their first new music since 2009?

Doves' Jimi Goodwin
Doves' Jimi Goodwin (Image credit: Rob Ball/WireImage - Getty)

Doves have shared two mysterious new videos on their social media channels and launched a countdown timer on their website, indicating an announcement is imminent.

Vocalist and bassist Jimi Goodwin, guitarist Jez Williams and drummer Andy Williams’ last record was 2009’s Kingdom Of Rust, which followed debut Lost Souls in 2000, The Last Broadcast in 2002 and 2005’s Some Cities.

The countdown timer is set to hit zero this Thursday, and new music from the trio is certainly possible after they said back in January: “Putting the finishing touches to the last song for album no.5.

“Sorry we can’t say when it will be released yet! As for now we will be working on videos and the cover art etc. We’re all very proud and well amped for album No.5.”

In April, Doves then teased: “Exciting news coming soon.”

Following the release of Kingdom Of Rust, Doves went on hiatus, but came back together in 2018 and played the Teenage Cancer Trust show at London’s Royal Albert Hall last year.

Watch this space.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.