Anthrax are using “the magic of the internet” to work on new music

Anthrax (Image credit: Paul Natkin - Getty)

Guitarist Scott Ian says Anthrax have been continuing to work on new music during the lockdown using “the magic of the internet.”

The band have been concentrating on material for the follow-up to 2016’s For All Kings over the past couple of years, with drummer Charlie Benante previously revealing that the songs will be “a little more aggressive and angrier” than their last record.

And in a new interview with SYFY Wire, Ian reports that they’re still hard at work, despite the lockdown.

He says (via Tone Deaf): “We had already started working on stuff with the intent of finishing it up in the spring of this year, and then maybe getting in the studio and either having a record out later this year or early 2021. But obviously all those plans have now changed.

“We have still been working on stuff through the magic of the internet. We can do a lot over Zoom and FaceTime, sending music back and forth through email.”

Ian adds: “We need to really get in the room and work on the arrangements and really play something 30 times until you really understand it and feel like, ‘OK, this is what this arrangement needs to be.’

“But that’s the holdup at this point. But we certainly have a lot of material, which makes me very excited about when we can actually get in a room together.”

This coming Friday (August 21) Anthrax will reissue their album Persistence Of Time to mark its 30th anniversary. 

The 1990 album was the band’s last to feature frontman Joey Belladonna before his return to the fold for 2011’s Worship Music and features Anthrax’s cover of Joe Jackson’s Got The Time.

Persistence Of Time will be released on 2CD/DVD and 4LP and feature revised cover art.

Anthrax: Persistence Of Time 30th anniversary

Anthrax: Persistence Of Time 30th anniversary
Anthrax will celebrate the 30th anniversary of their fifth studio album Persistence Of Time with a special release spread across 2CD and DVD.

Anthrax: Persistence Of Time 30th anniversary edition

1. Time
2. Blood
3. Keep It In The Family
4. In My World
5. Gridlock
6. Intro To Reality
7. Belly Of The Beast
8. Got The Time
9. H8 Red
10. One Man Stands
11. Discharge
12. I'm The Man (The Illest Version Ever)
13. Time
14. Got The Time
15. H8 Red

1. In My World
2. Discharge
3. Keep It In The Family
4. Blood
5. Intro To Reality/Belly Of The Beast
6. Gridlock
7. One Man Stands
8. Time

Behind the scenes on Persistence of Time Tour

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.