Skip to main content

Angra detail Secret Garden

Brazilian metal outfit Angra have announced details of their upcoming 8th album.

Secret Garden, the follow-up to 2010’s Aqua, launches on January 16 via earMUSIC and will feature guest appearances from singers Doro Pesch and Epica’s Simone Simons.

To mark the announcement, the band have released a lyric video of opening track Newborn Me. View it below.

Angra say in a statement: “Secret Garden brings together everything that has established Angra as one of biggest bands in its style: contemporary sound combined with inspired compositions. It shows the maturity of a band that, after 23 years on the road, continues with the same motivation and passion for music that drove the glorious beginning of the group.”

Simons provides the vocals on the album’s title track, while former Warlock frontwoman Pesch features on a duet with Angra’s guitarist Rafael Bittencourt on Crushing Room.

Dutch band Epica are currently on tour with their only UK date coming on December 6 when they’ll play London’s The Forum. Pesch is also on the road across mainland Europe with her band Doro.

Secret Garden tracklist

  1. Newborn Me 2. Black Hearted Soul 3. Final Light 4. Storm Of Emotions 5. Synchronicity II 6. Violet Sky 7. Secret Garden (with Simone Simons) 8. Upper Levels 9. Crushing Room (with Doro Pesch) 10. Perfect Symmetry 11. Silent Call

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.