Alt-rockers Kerbdog prep album reissues

Kerbdog (Image credit: Hassle Hindsight)

Kerbdog have revealed that their two studio albums will be reissued on vinyl later this year.

The Irish alt-rock outfit’s self-titled debut album from 1994 along with On The Turn from 1997 will both arrive on November 6 through Hassle Hindsight.

Kerbdog recorded their debut album with Jack Endino – who previously worked with Nirvana on Bleach – at Rockfield Studios in Wales in 1993, while Sepultura were laying down their Chaos A.D album next door.

Kerbdog vocalist and guitarist Cormac Battle says: “I think some of what they were doing seeped into what we were doing. It made the record heavier and more chunky than we intended, but we were happy with the results.”

On The Turn, meanwhile, was recorded at California’s Sound City Studios with producer Garth Richardson. The band split in 1998 but reunited in the mid-2000s for several live shows which resulted in the 2014 live album Congregation.

And with vinyl pressings selling for up to £300 on the secondary market, Battle says now is the right time for both studio albums to be reissued.

“It’s truly humbling to be bringing out the two Kerbdog albums on vinyl,” he says. “They’re for the fans who’ve supported us from the beginning and vindicated those albums across the years.

“They’re for those who came on board after we thought the albums were dead and buried and also for ourselves – mainly because I have only one copy of the On The Turn LP and I can’t afford to pay the extortionate prices on eBay!”

Battle is joined in Kerbdog by bassist Colin Fennelly, guitarist Billy Dalton and drummer Darragh Butler with both albums now available to pre-order

Kerbdog: Kerbdog

Side A
1. End Of Green
2. Dry Riser
3. Dead Anyway
4. Cleaver
5. Earthwork

Side B
6. Dummy Crusher
7. The Inseminator
8. Clock
9. Schism
10. Scram

Kerbdog: On The Turn

Side A
1. Sally
2. J.J.’s Song
3. Didn’t Even Try
4. MexicanWave
5. Severed
6. Pledge

Side B
7. On The Turn
8. Secure
9. Lesser Shelf
10. Pointless
11. Rewind
12. Sorry For The Record

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.