System Of A Down’s Daron Malakian resurrects Scars On Broadway

(Image credit: Francesco Castaldo - Getty)

System Of A Down guitarist Daron Malakian has resurrected his Scars On Broadway project.

They released their self-titled debut album in 2008 – and in an Instagram post, Malakian has confirmed that a new single and video will launch later this month which will be followed by their second album.

Introducing the new name of Daron Malakian And Scars On Broadway, the guitarist says: “First song/video off of the second Scars On Broadway album drops April 23. Oh it’s true. It’s damn true.”

The video has been directed by Hayk Matevosyan, while artistic director Mikael Sharafya has posted two images on his Instagram account showing Malakian and his new lineup.

See the posts below.

Earlier this month, System Of A Down announced a handful of live US dates for later this year.

The band’s last album was 2005’s Hypnotize, with frontman Serj Tankian reporting in December that he was “more interested in writing instrumental pieces of music.”

Last summer, bassist Shavo Odadjian admitted that he had no idea when a new record would arrive.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.