Shemekia Copeland gets bothered on Outskirts Of Love

Shemekia Copeland will release latest album Outskirts Of Love on September 11, featuring guest appearances from Billy Gibbons, Robert Randolph and Alvin Youngblood Hart.

They join her band Oliver Wood, Jano Rix and Lex Price on a 12-track title that mixes original material with songs by John Fogerty, Albert King, Jesse Winchester, Jessie Mae Hemphill and father Johnny Copeland.

Copeland says: “I’m a lifer, singing about things that bother me, using my music to help people. My dad always said, ‘We’re all connected’ – I’m an old soul marching to the beat of my own drum.”

Outskirts Of Love is available for pre-order now from Alligator Records. She continues a US tour later this week.


  1. Outskirts Of Love
  2. Crossbone Beach
  3. Devil’s Hand
  4. The Battle Is Over (But The War Goes On)
  5. Cardboard Box
  6. Drivin’ Out Of Nashville
  7. I Feel A Sin Coming On
  8. Isn’t That So
  9. Jesus Just Left Chicago
  10. Long As I Can See The Light
  11. Wrapped Up In Love
  12. Lord Help The Poor And Needy
Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.