Rick Parfitt solo album Over And Out to receive posthumous release

Rick Parfitt
Rick Parfitt (Image credit: Getty)

Rick Parfitt’s solo album Over And Out is to receive a posthumous release.

The Status Quo guitarist died on Christmas Eve last year, with Parfitt recording the album while he was recuperating from a heart attack in July 2016.

It will launch on March 23 via earMUSIC.

Although Parfitt had finished recording his guitar and vocal parts for the record, some tracks were not totally finished when he died. His son Rick Parfitt Jnr, along with John ‘Rhino’ Edwards, Alan Lancaster, Queen’s Brian May and Muse’s Chris Wolstenholme stepped in to ensure that the album could be completed.

Over And Out features 10 new songs, including the title track which was played at Parfitt’s funeral and is said to be “an album of depth and passion.”

A statement on the release continues: “Created by Rick Parfitt and Producer Jo Webb, the record is a true labour of love and showcases the softer side of Rick as a writer, artist and performer away from the Quo maelstrom as well as the purest rock and roll sound of earlier Status Quo records.”

Over And Out is now available for pre-order. Find the tracklist and cover art below.

Rick Parfitt Over And Out tracklist

  1. Twinkletoes
  2. Lonesome Road
  3. Over And Out
  4. When I Was Fallin’ In Love
  5. Fight For Every Heartbeat
  6. Without You
  7. Long Distance Love
  8. Everybody Knows How To Fly
  9. Lock Myself Away
  10. Halloween

Remembering Rick Parfitt: October 12, 1948 – December 24, 2016

Status Quo announce 2018 touring hiatus

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.