Foo Fighters Hail Satin with the release of Bee Gees’ covers EP for Record Store Day

Dee Gees
(Image credit: Roswell)

Having been cooped up for so long during lockdown, unable to live our best lives, it’s entirely understandable that now we’re getting unshackled once more, everyone is looking to get a little loose, a little wild, perhaps even a little sexxxy…

Yep, even Nate Mendel, even Nate Mendel.

We’re gonnna assume that’s why Foo Fighters have decided to pay tribute to the Isle Of Man’s greatest export, the undisputed Kings Of Disco, the Bee Gees, on a new EP.

Having unleashed their inner jive talkers earlier this year by covering the Gibb brothers’ classic You Should Be Dancing for the UK’s own Jo Wiley, it appears that Dave Grohl and co. have been infected by Saturday Night Fever, because now they’re set to offer up a whole fistful of Bee Gees classics on the excellently-titled Hail Satin EP, as a Record Store Day exclusive, credited to the... wait for it… Dee Gees!

And not only that, but the lads have bunged a bunch of live takes of songs from their own 2021 ‘party’ album, Medicine At Midnight, on the flipside. Nice!

Emerging on July 17, Hail Satin boasts five disco monsters on side A - You Should Be Dancing, Night Fever, Tragedy, More Than A Woman plus Andy Gibbs’ Shadow Dancing and  then five tracks from Medicine At Midnight, recorded live at their own 606 studio, on Side B.

"For optimal results, listen with exposed chest hair and little gold spoon necklace (If you know, you know…)," the band say with a cheeky wink, and no, we‘re not going to explain that reference if you don’t know, you know.

Hail Satin track listing:

Side A - The DEE GEES

01 You Should Be Dancing
02 Night Fever
03 Tragedy
04 Shadow Dancing
05 More Than a Woman

Side B - Live at 606

01 Making A Fire
02 Shame Shame
03 Waiting On A War
04 No Son Of Mine
05 Cloudspotter

Classic Rock

Classic Rock is the online home of the world's best rock'n'roll magazine. We bring you breaking news, exclusive interviews and behind-the-scenes features, as well as unrivalled access to the biggest names in rock music; from Led Zeppelin to Deep Purple, Guns N’ Roses to the Rolling Stones, AC/DC to the Sex Pistols, and everything in between. Our expert writers bring you the very best on established and emerging bands plus everything you need to know about the mightiest new music releases.