Skip to main content

Flying Colors reveal their Second Nature

Flying Colors have confirmed the release of their album Second Nature on September 29 via Music Theories/Mascot Label Group.

The prog supergroup – featuring Mike Portnoy, Neal Morse, Steve Morse, David LaRue and Casey McPherson – will play London’s Islington Assembly Hall on October 13 to support the launch.

Work on the nine-track album took almost 18 months while the various members found time in their schedules to write, refine and record their parts. They also self-produced the title.

Transatlantic and Winery Dogs drummer Portnoy says: “Direction wasn’t even discussed; we just did what we did. I think perhaps noe having a producer to ‘trim the fat’ led to the songs breathing and expanding a bit more.”

Deep Purple Guitarist Steve Morse adds: “This is an album full of many layers. The more you listen, the more you can hear.”

View Flying Colors’ promo video below.


  1. Open Your Eyes

  2. Mask Machine

  3. Bombs Away

  4. The Fury Of My Love

  5. A Place In Your World

  6. Lost Without You

  7. One Love Forever

  8. Peaceful Harbor

  9. Cosmic Symphony

I. Still Life

II. Searching For The Air

III. Pound For Pound

Martin Kielty

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band (opens in new tab), a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories (opens in new tab) about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.