Soto return with new studio album Origami - listen to the first single


Soto have announced that they’ll release a new studio album later this year.

It’s titled Origami and follows vocalist Jeff Scott Soto's work with Mike Portnoy, Derek Sherinian, Billy Sheehan and Ron ‘Bumblefoot’ Thal in Sons Of Apollo.

The record will be released on May 24 after the band singed a new deal with InsideOut Music. And, to mark the news, Soto have released a lyric video for BeLie, which can be listened to below.

Soto says: “This is a song co-written with a long-time collaborator of mine in Brazil, Leo Mancini, along with my drummer Edu Cominato. 

“It had a very Operation: Mindcrime vibe to it musically when they presented me with the song so I knew I had to really think outside the box in making it not sound like a Queensryche song in the end.”

He adds: “I love the middle section as it presents our new bassist, Tony Dickinson, to the world as a much-needed entity in the band after losing our boy David Z. It serves as a great launching pad for Origami.”

Origami will be released as a limited edition digipak CD which will contain the bonus track KMAG and three stickers, 180g vinyl and on digital and streaming platforms.

Soto: Origami
1. HyperMania
2. Origami
3. BeLie
4. World Gone Colder
5. Detonate
6. Torn
7. Dance With The Devil
8. AfterGlow
9. Vanity Lane
10. Give In To Me
11. KMAG (Bonus Track)

Soto: Origami (opens in new tab)

Soto: Origami (opens in new tab)
The Sons Of Apollo vocalist Jeff Scott Soto will release his new album Origami in May via InsideOut Music. The record will feature the lead single BeLie.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.