Rising stars The Texas Gentlemen announce second album, Floor It!

The Texas Gentlemen
(Image credit: Barbara Creamer)

Hotly-topped Texans The Texas Gentlemen have announced details of their second album, Floor It! The album is due to arrive on June 10 via New West Records, and is the follow-up to their 2017 debut, TX Jelly.

The band have also released the first track from the new album, Ain't Nothin' New, a sweet and soulful blend of wistful Americana with a sun-dappled, West Coast feel. There's even elements of late-period Beatles in there. 

Last year band's Dan Creamer told Classic Rock, "We're really excited about the prospect of putting out a record where we're able to show people what we're capable of when there's some planning behind it. It's going to sound like a new band." 

The songs on Floor It! were written and performed by Creamer alongside Nik Lee (guitar, vocals, percussion), Ryan Ake (guitar, vocals, percussion), Scott Edgar Lee, Jr. (bass and sounds) and drummer Aaron Haynes. The album was recorded at The Echo Lab in Denton, Texas, and at the famed Muscle Shoals studio in Alabama.

The band have also released a video promo for Floor It!, a mock infomercial advertising a board game that will accompany physical copies of the album. 

Floor It! is available to pre-order from Bandcamp.

Floor It! Tracklist

1. Veal Cutlass
2. Bare Maximum
3. Ain't Nothin'
4. Train to Avesta
5. Easy St.
6. Hard Rd.
7. Dark at the End of the Tunnel
8. Sing Me to Sleep
9. Last Call
10. She Won't
11. Charlie's House
12. Skyway Streetcar
13. Floor It!!!

The Texas Gentlemen - Floor It!

(Image credit: New West Records)
Fraser Lewry

Online Editor at Louder/Classic Rock magazine since 2014. 38 years in music industry, online for 25. Also bylines for: Metal Hammer, Prog Magazine, The Word Magazine, The Guardian, The New Statesman, Saga, Music365. Former Head of Music at Xfm Radio, A&R at Fiction Records, early blogger, ex-roadie, published author. Once appeared in a Cure video dressed as a cowboy, and thinks any situation can be improved by the introduction of cats. Favourite Serbian trumpeter: Dejan Petrović.