Magnum detail Sacred Blood Divine Lies

Magnum will release their latest album entitled Sacred Blood “Divine” Lies on February 26.

It’ll be issued via Steamhammer/SPV and is the follow-up to 2014’s Escape From The Shadow Garden.

Guitarist Tony Clarkin wrote 25 tracks for the album and cut the list down to 10 for the record, with a further three included on a bonus DVD which will be bundled with the disc.

He says: “It would have been too much of a shame to disregard them, particularly since our fans want to know after every release what happened to the rest of the material. This time they’re getting it in attention to the album tracks.”

“I’ve always been into rock numbers but it isn’t necessarily that easy to write really good rock material. It’s much more simple to compose a ballad. But that dynamic pace suits Magnum perfectly.”

Clarkin praises frontman Bob Catley on his vocal performance on the album’s title track and adds: “As far as I’m concerned, Sacred Blood “Divine” Lies is definitely likely to join the ranks of great Magnum classics.”

The album will be released in digipak/DVD, 2LP coloured vinyl, CD and digital formats and is available for pre-order. The cover was illustrated by longtime Magnum collaborator Rodney Matthews.

The band will head out on tour next year and have announced an initial run of shows with more to be confirmed.

Sacred Blood “Divine” Lies tracklist

  1. Sacred Blood “Divine” Lies
  2. Crazy Old Mothers
  3. Gypsy Queen
  4. Princess In Rags (The Cult)
  5. Your Dreams Won’t Die
  6. Afraid Of The Night
  7. A Forgotten Conversation
  8. Quiet Rhapsody
  9. Twelve Men Wise And Just
  10. Don’t Cry Baby
  11. Phantom Of Paradise Circus (Bonus)
  12. Don’t Grow Up (Bonus)
  13. No God Or Saviour (Bonus)

Magnum The “Divine” Lies Tour

Apr 19: Frederiksvaerk Gjethuset, Denmark
Apr 20: Gothenburg Sticky Fingers, Sweden
Apr21: Stockholm Debaser Medis, Sweden
Apr 22: Orebro Kulturhuset, Sweden
Apr 23: Helsingborg The Tivoli, Sweden
Apr 25: Nuremberg Hirsch, Germany
Apr 26: Augsburg Spectrum, Germany
Apr 28: Ingolstadt Eventhalle, Germany
Apr 29: Memmingen Kaminwerk, Germany
Apr 30: Pratteln Z7, Switzerland
May 02: Munich Ampere, Germany
May 03: Aschaffenburg Colos-Saal, Germany
May 04: Hamburg Fabrik, Germany
May 06: Berlin Columbia Theatre, Germany
May 07: Worpswede Music Hall, Germany
May 08: Bochum Zeehe, Germany

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.