Lost Jeff Buckley tapes set for release

A collection of lost Jeff Buckley recordings will be released under the title You & I in March.

It contains eight cover versions of other artists’ music, along with alternative takes of Buckley tracks Grace and Dream Of You And I. Hear his version of Everyday People, originally by Sly And The Family Stone, below.

Buckley drowned in Tennessee in 1997, aged 30, while working on his second album, planned to follow 1994 debut Grace.

Legacy Recordings president Adam Block says: “The vault, as it occasionally will, presented us with an unbelievable gift – this cache of studio recordings from the Grace period.

“We quickly realised how remarkable they were. They offer an incredible glimpse of an artist alone in the sacred space that is the studio. There’s an intimacy and honesty to the performances that’s literally breathtaking.”

You & I will be released on March 11 in the UK and March 16 elsewhere.

You & I tracklist

  1. Just Like A Woman
  2. Everyday People
  3. Don’t Let The Sun Catch You Cryin’
  4. Grace
  5. Calling You
  6. Dream Of You And I
  7. The Boy With The Thorn In His Side
  8. Poor Boy Long Way From Home
  9. Night Flight
  10. I Know It’s Over
Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.