Bun E Carlos announces Greetings From Bunezuela

Bun E Carlos
(Image credit: Getty)

Former Cheap Trick drummer Bun E Carlos has announced a covers album.

He’s teamed up with a variety of singers for Greetings From Bunezuela!, which will be released on June 24 via eOne Records.

The sticksman has recorded a version of Robert Pollard’s Do Something Real, which includes vocals from the Guided By Voices frontman. Hear it below.

Carlos tells Rolling Stone: “I’m an average Guided By Voices fan with about 200–300 of their songs in my collection. I had about 15 GBV songs I thought about covering, and Do Something Real kept coming back to me. I could have done an entire album with Robert Pollard alone.”

Carlos says the concept for the record has been in the works since the 70s. He adds: “After 35 years, I’m finally making this record. I made the album like people made records in my childhood. I cut two tracks at a time.”

Last week, the drummer reunited with his former Cheap Trick bandmates for their induction into The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame.

Bun E Carlos Greetings From Bunezuela! tracklist

  1. Do Something Real – Robert Pollard (Robert Pollard solo)
  2. Him or Me – featuring Hanson (Paul Revere and the Raiders)
  3. Armenia in the Sky – John Stirratt (The Who)
  4. I Love You No More – Alex Dezen (The Blackstones)
  5. Tell Me – Alejandro Escovedo (The Rolling Stones)
  6. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry – Dave Pirner (Bob Dylan)
  7. Let the Mystery Be – Xeno (Iris DeMent)
  8. Idea – Robert Pollard (The Bee Gees)
  9. Le Cactus – Nicholas Tremulis (Jacque DuTronc)
  10. I Can Only Give You Everything – Rick Rizzo (Them)
  11. Slow Down – Alejandro Escovedo (Alejandro Escovedo)
  12. Count on Me – Xeno (Fra Lippo Lippi)
  13. I Don’t Mind – Alex Dezen (Alex Dezen)
Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.