Shinedown – Attention Attention album reviewed

US arena rockers Shinedown bring the bombast… and the belly laughs

Shinedown Attention Attention album cover

You can trust Louder Our experienced team has worked for some of the biggest brands in music. From testing headphones to reviewing albums, our experts aim to create reviews you can trust. Find out more about how we review.

Attention Attention

Shinedown Attention Attention album cover

1. The Entrance
2. Devil
3. Black Soul
4. Attention Attention
5. Kill Your Conscience
6. Pyro
7. Monsters
8. Darkside
9. Creatures
10. Evolve
11. Get Up
12. Special
13. The Human Radio
14. Brilliant

Buy from Amazon

At times invigorating and at others unintentionally side-splitting, Attention Attention is loveable rock’n’roll lunacy that does nothing but provide pure entertainment. Shinedown’s sixth album displays them at their most uninhibited, standing strongest  when it witnesses them border on metal territory with Devil, Evolve and Brilliant. The anthems’ bouncing energy already feels destined to ignite live crowds. However, the real moments that make this disc a standout are its hilarity-inducing head-scratchers: capsules of magnificence like Black Soul, which has a keyboard riff weirdly reminiscent of We Are Number One. Or the choice to commence Kill Your Conscience with Brent Smith emotively humming the words ‘Beast mode’. Or Special’s inexplicable ending, boasting an impromptu round of half-assed, bodiless applause. Shinedown fully commit to the crazy with this release and the end result is constant, unadulterated and silly fun.

Matt Mills
Contributing Editor, Metal Hammer

Louder’s resident Gojira obsessive was still at uni when he joined the team in 2017. Since then, Matt’s become a regular in Prog and Metal Hammer, at his happiest when interviewing the most forward-thinking artists heavy music can muster. He’s got bylines in The Guardian, The Telegraph, NME, Guitar and many others, too. When he’s not writing, you’ll probably find him skydiving, scuba diving or coasteering.