Neal Morse Band contrast the epic with the concise on Innocence & Danger

Chops, tunes and chemistry rule on NMB's fourth album Innocence & Danger

Neal Morse Band: Innocence & Danger album art
(Image: © InsideOut)

You can trust Louder Our experienced team has worked for some of the biggest brands in music. From testing headphones to reviewing albums, our experts aim to create reviews you can trust. Find out more about how we review.

As prog watchers know, Neal Morse (vocals, guitar, keyboards) and Mike Portnoy (drums) are prolific collaborators, often accompanied by bassist Randy George. 

Since 2012 the trio’s chemistry has been enhanced by NMB bandmates Bill Hubauer (vocals, keyboards) and Eric Gillette (vocals, guitar), resulting in a contemporary prog sound. 

Tapping into the genre’s early sense of musical adventure, without the stale indulgence of the mid-70s, latest album Innocence & Danger contrasts epics and concise tracks. 

Beyond The Years holds the attention through 30 minutes of mood and tempo changes, balancing memorable melodies with dazzling musical interplay. The band are equally effective stripped down to Not Afraid Part 1’s acoustic guitar and vocal harmonies, and Your Place In The Sun’s snappy, pop-tinged groove.