Queen to release official Bohemian Rhapsody soundtrack

(Image credit: Terry O'Neill/Iconic Images - Getty)

Queen have revealed that they’ll release the official soundtrack to upcoming film Bohemian Rhapsody.

The news comes on what would have been frontman Freddie Mercury’s 72nd birthday, with the 22-track collection featuring previously unreleased audio from the band’s celebrated Live Aid performance in 1985.

In addition to Bohemian Rhapsody, Radio Ga Ga, Hammer To Fall and We Are The Champions from Wembley Stadium will be other rare live Queen tracks, new versions of old favourites and a selection of songs from the band’s back catalogue.

The album was produced by Brian May and Roger Taylor, with Justin Shirley-Smith, Kris Fredriksson and Joshua J Macrae were on engineering and co-production duties, while Adam Ayan and Bob Ludwig handled mastering. 

The soundtrack will be released on CD, LP, cassette and on digital platforms on October 19 via Virgin/Hollywood Records – four days before Bohemian Rhapsody’s world premiere in the UK.

The film is said to be “a foot-stomping celebration of Queen, their music and their extraordinary lead singer Freddie Mercury”.

It stars Rami Malek as Mercury, Gwilym Lee as May, Ben Hardy as Taylor, Joe Mazzello as John Deacon and Lucy Boynton as Mercury's lifelong companion Mary Austin. 

Bohemian Rhapsody was first announced in 2010, but had been in development hell following the acrimonious departure of Sacha Baron Cohen – who was originally due to play Mercury – in 2013. 

Queen - Bohemian Rhapsody soundtrack
1. 20th Century Fox Fanfare
2. Somebody To Love
3. Doing All Right... revisited (Performed by Smile)
4. Keep Yourself Alive (Live At The Rainbow)
5. Killer Queen
6. Fat Bottomed Girls (Live In Paris)
7. Bohemian Rhapsody
8. Now I'm Here (Live At Hammersmith Odeon)
9. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
10. Love Of My Life (Rock In Rio)
11. We Will Rock You (Movie Mix)
12. Another One Bites The Dust
13. I Want To Break Free
14. Under Pressure (Performed by Queen & David Bowie)
15. Who Wants To Live Forever
16. Bohemian Rhapsody (Live Aid)
17. Radio Ga Ga (Live Aid)
18. Ay-Oh (Live Aid)
19. Hammer To Fall (Live Aid)
20. We Are The Champions (Live Aid)
21. Don't Stop Me Now… revisited
22. The Show Must Go On

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.