Metallica’s Lars Ulrich to launch Beats 1 radio show

Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich has teamed up with Apple Music’s Beats 1 for a new radio show.

Titled It’s Electric, the first episode will air on May 7 at 3pm PT (11pm GMT) where he’ll be joined by special guest Iggy Pop. The show will be repeated on May 8 at 3am PT (11am GMT).

Ulrich says: “We go all over the world – we look at international bands for an international audience.

“This is like my 16-year-old self’s wet dream – doing a radio show to a worldwide audience. Seriously, it doesn’t get cooler than that.”

He adds: “I’m gonna play you lots of really cool music by mostly bands you don’t know – a lot of bands I’ve just been introduced to.

“We don’t believe in boundaries, and we’re open to everything. I have some guests call in on the phone, and they promise me I’m gonna have this show every week!”

In March 2016, Slipknot and Stone Sour frontman Corey Taylor launched his own show on Apple Music titled Bleeps With Corey Taylor.

Earlier this week, Metallica announced that they’ll live stream a rehearsal session the night before the start of the North American leg of their WorldWired tour.

The four-song set will air on Facebook and via Metallica’s website on May 9 at 9pm EST (2am GMT).

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.