Rage lineup go their separate ways

The latest lineup of German rockers Rage have split, they’ve confirmed.

Founding member Peter ‘Peavy’ Wagner and guitarist Victor Smolski issued a statement stating they would no longer work together and would also part ways with sticksman Andre Hilgers.

The statement reads: “After thinking it over carefully, Peavy and Victor decided to stop working together. This is due to musical and personal changes.

“We have developed in different directions in the last years that we cannot identify with the current band situation any more. In this situation we will also part from drummer Andre Hilgers.

“The last 15 years together were blessed with many highlights and great releases but this era is over now. Every extension would be untrue to ourselves and to our fans. We wish each other all the best. Thanks to all the fans for your trust and support.”

The German band formed in 1984 under the name Avenger and released their debut album Prayers Of Steel the following year. They changed their name to Rage and launched Reign On Fear under the new moniker in 1986.

Their most recent release was 2014’s The Soundchaser Archives which was issued by Nuclear Blast to mark the band’s 30th anniversary. It contained fresh material along with previously unreleased tracks and rare recordings.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.