Major Accident - Pneumatic Pneurosis album review

For fans of Sham 69, Blitz and Cock Sparrer

Major Accident Pneumatic Pneurosis album cover

You can trust Louder Our experienced team has worked for some of the biggest brands in music. From testing headphones to reviewing albums, our experts aim to create reviews you can trust. Find out more about how we review.

Originally released on Flicknife Records in 1985, Pneumatic Pneurosis compiles the complete 45rpm output of Darlington’s Clockwork punk/Oi! Mob.

Like Ipswich contingent The Adicts, Major Accident couldn’t get enough of Stanley Kubrick’s vision of Anthony Burgess’s A Clockwork Orange, an influence writ large in their boots-‘n’-bowlers get ups and little bit of Ludwig Van on The Glorious 9th (what neo-classical metal would’ve sounded like if Yngwie Malmsteen had gone to borstal).

Elsewhere, ‘83 debut single Mr Nobody sets out the band’s stall with the clipped punk guitars and football-terrace choruses that fuel other outstanding tracks such as Leaders Of Tomorrow, Respectable, The Man On The Wall and bonus early tracks Warboots and Terrorist Gang.

For the old guard, Pneumatic Pneurosis is an enjoyable stomp down a litter-strewn Memory Lane. For the current crop of shaved heads, Major Accident are the blueprint for 21st-century street punks like Evil Conduct, the London Skinhead Crew and Lars Frederiksen’s Old Firm Casuals.

Ed Mitchell

Ed Mitchell was the Editor of The Blues Magazine from 2012-16, and a contributor to Classic Rock and Louder. He died in October 2022, aged 52. A one-time Reviews Editor on Total Guitar magazine from 2003, his guitar-modding column, Ed’s Shed, appeared in print on both sides of the Atlantic (in both Total Guitar and Guitar World magazines), and he wrote stories for Classic Rock and Guitarist. Between them, the websites Louder, MusicRadar and Guitar World host over 400 of his articles – among them interviews with Billy Gibbons, Paul Weller, Brian Setzer, profiles on Roy Buchanan, Duane Allman and Peter Green, a joint interview with Jimmy Page and Jack White, and dozens of guitar reviews – and that’s just the ones that made it online.