Skip to main content

Tremonti - A Dying Machine album reviewed

Crunching concept album from Alter Bridge man Mark Tremonti

Tremonti - A Dying Machine
Tremonti - A Dying Machine

Tremonti - A Dying Machine

1. Bringer Of War
2. From The Sky
3. A Dying Machine
4. Trust
5. Throw Them To The Lions
6. Make It Hurt
7. Traipse
8. The First The Last
9. A Lot Like Sin
10. The Day When Legions Burned
11. As The Silence Becomes Me
12. Take You With Me
13. Desolation
14. Found

Buy from Amazon (opens in new tab)

Does anything chill the heart more than the phrase “concept album to be accompanied by full-length novel”? That, written by Mark Tremonti and sci-fi and horror author John Shirley, is fêted to appear when the album drops, so expect to see the story set “at the turn of the next century where humans and fabricated beings called ‘vessels’ are trying to co-exist” fleshed out then. I know, I saw Channel 4’s Humans too. 

Surprisingly, such an expansive launch pad has hamstrung the album, rather than letting it take fanciful flight. Whereas a record like 2015’s Cauterize was a well-drilled exercise in light and shade, A Dying Machine’s futuristic, android trope has everything set at full tilt. 

We get it – the march of machinery as the thrumming musical template beating an incessant tattoo throughout. 

However, it’s an album that could do with more reflective moments like the aching As The Silence Becomes Me and less the feeling that you’re being throttled by the thrashing exposition of songs like the clanging Throw Them To The Lions and the relentless The Day When Legions Burned.

Philip Wilding is a novelist, journalist, scriptwriter, biographer and radio producer. As a young journalist he criss-crossed most of the United States with bands like Motley Crue, Kiss and Poison (think the Almost Famous movie but with more hairspray). More latterly, he’s sat down to chat with bands like the slightly more erudite Manic Street Preachers, Afghan Whigs, Rush and Marillion. He ghosted Carl Barat’s acclaimed autobiography, Threepenny Memoir, and helped launch the BBC 6 Music network as producer and co-presenter on the Phill Jupitus Breakfast Show. Five years later he and Jupitus fronted the hugely popular Perfect 10 podcast and live shows. His debut novel, Cross Country Murder Song, was described, variously, as ‘sophisticated and compelling’ and ‘like a worm inside my brain’. His latest novel The Death And Life Of Red Henley is out now.