RSO - Radio Free America album review

Power couple Richie Sambora and Orianthi cast their net beyond the guitar crowd

RSO - Radio Free America

You can trust Louder Our experienced team has worked for some of the biggest brands in music. From testing headphones to reviewing albums, our experts aim to create reviews you can trust. Find out more about how we review.

RSO - Radio Free America

RSO - Radio Free America

1. Making History
2. We Are Magic
3. Rise
4. Take Me
5. Masterpiece
6. Walk With Me
7. I Don't Want to Have to Need You Now
8. Truth
9. Together On The Outside
10. Good Times
11. Forever All The Way
12. I Got You Babe
13. One Night of Peace (Modern Mix)
14. Blues Won't Leave Me Alone
15. Hellbound Train

Buy from Amazon

Anyone who feared Richie Sambora and Orianthi Panagaris’s debut would be a dead-eyed shredfest will be pleasantly surprised by Radio Free America

Three years in the making, it’s an ambitious opening gambit where genres are gleefully mulched, virtuoso tendencies tastefully deployed and tunes prioritised over chops. 

Making History is a flying start, like Prince with bushier chest hair, breaking into a double-time AC/DC tribute. We Are Magic is well-crafted electronica using the talk box left over from Livin’ On A Prayer, with a shout-it-out hook that shows R&O don’t want this project to loiter on a dank corner of the internet. 

Rise is a glitter-stomp stalker with shades of the Arctic Monkeys’ Do I Wanna Know, while Walk With Me is a golden country strum, the pair’s voices beautifully intertwined. 

Romantically and creatively, RSO are rubbing along just fine. But based on their tit-for-tat sniping on the Nashville-flavoured Good Times, the break-up album should be really something. 

Paul Moody is a writer whose work has appeared in the Classic Rock, NME, Time Out, Uncut, Arena and the Guardian. He is the co-author of The Search for the Perfect Pub and The Rough Pub Guide.