Buffalo Tom - Quiet And Peace album review

Grunge’s forest-rock critters Buffalo Tom can still bare their teeth

Buffalo Tom - Quiet And Peace

You can trust Louder Our experienced team has worked for some of the biggest brands in music. From testing headphones to reviewing albums, our experts aim to create reviews you can trust. Find out more about how we review.

Buffalo Tom - Quiet And Peace

Buffalo Tom - Quiet And Peace

1. All Be Gone
2. Overtime
3. Roman Cars
4. Freckles
5. CatVMouse
6. Lonely Fast and Deep
7. See High the Hemlock Grows
8. In the Ice
9. Least That We Can Do
10. Slow Down
11. The Only Living Boy in New York

Buy from Amazon

It’s twenty-five years since their epochal third album Let Me Come Over and though time has softened their grunge-country edges and their albums are few and far between, Boston’s impressionistic rockers Buffalo Tom still know the power of a good old billow. 

Ninth album Quiet And Peace is roughly one third quiet, peaceful and Chris Stapleton-like, as soft-focus Nashville rattlers like Freckles, Slow Down and In The Ice grow rugged and mountainous, as if invaded by Catskill wildmen midway through. 

Elsewhere, All Be Gone and Lonely Fast And Deep recall the lumberjack Lemonheads of ’93, but there’s forward motion too. Bill Janovitz’s classic country drawl is offset by sci-fi synths on the brooding drone that is Least That We Can Do, and there’s a prevalence of bassist Chris Colbourn’s vocals and a sprinkling of female duets: the luscious See High The Hemlock Grows and a spacious cover of Simon & Garfunkel’s The Only Living Boy In New York, featuring Janovitz’s daughter Lucy. Massachusetts’ mightiest trappers, still catching big game.

Mark Beaumont

Mark Beaumont is a music journalist with almost three decades' experience writing for publications including Classic Rock, NME, The Guardian, The Independent, The Telegraph, The Times, Uncut and Melody Maker. He has written major biographies on Muse, Jay-Z, The Killers, Kanye West and Bon Iver and his debut novel [6666666666] is available on Kindle.